Stress Management.

ADHD is extremely stressful, not only for the person with the condition but also partners and family members. Many people effected by ADHD often report feelings of anxiety, depression and extreme frustration on a regular basis. In this blog I’ve put together some of the things that I have found that help with my ADHD, and I hope others may find useful as a way of coping with their difficulties.

Stress ADHD

Over the years I’ve resorted to many methods to try and reduce the stress I have experienced due to my ADHD. Before I was diagnosed my approach to stress was simple as soon as I had money, I would just black myself out with a concoction of drugs and alcohol and I can assure any readers that approach is ill-advised and makes any difficulties much worse.   However since I was diagnosed there have been many other stress reduction tools that I found to be of great benefit for me.

Participating in hobbies and social activities is extremely important for my ADHD. I love Drama, not the Jeremy Kyle type drama, but doing plays, pantomimes and musicals. Not only is it one of the things that that I enjoy but it gets me out and about meeting new people and allows me to participate in my community in a positive way. I feel it’s very important for me to be a part of rather than apart from.Jeremy Kyle ADHD

I also like having a laugh and not taking myself too seriously.  Growing up one of my defences was playing the class clown and I suppose it as became part of who I am. Accepting this side of my personality rather than supressing it is a much easier approach to life for me.   Although the disorganised mind, forgetfulness and impulsive behaviours can still  be stressful I don’t go hard on myself as I once did. Being part of a support group has greatly helped with this. When I hear other people going through the same difficulties due to ADHD it’s much easier to identify which of my own problems are due to the condition and which of the difficulties can or cannot be changed.

I would also encourage the practice of yoga, mindfulness meditation or even just doing a bit of training in the gym as an effective way to reduce symptoms and even help bring clarity to a mind that is often extremely cluttered. I find meditation to be a great preventative measure for stress and found it beneficial in developing better self-awareness as well as greatly reduce some of the more chaotic symptoms of ADHD giving me increased ability to prioritise what needs to be done more easily.

Lion king ADHD

Many Adults with ADHD have extreme difficulties prioritizing tasks so I’d suggest taking 10 minutes before you go to bed and writing a list of things you need to do. Then rewrite the list in order of what is the most urgent. I would also recommend colour coding the tasks and setting deadlines and reminders on your phone to help maintain structure through-out the day. This may sound ridiculous to some but when I am busy I even have to set reminders to eat otherwise I would completely forget.

I would also recommend not taking on too much. I have often found myself saying yes to things that I realistically haven’t time to do, causing me to stretch myself too thin, make mistakes and let people down. I have blogged before about sticking to one goal at a time and for me without that simple approach I would get nothing done. Prioritising the ONE goal is the key.City slickers ADHD

Lastly I would encourage finding some regular peer support and a safe place to talk about your thoughts feelings and any stress that you are experiencing. There are also ADHD support groups becoming more prevalent and are a great place to access information and support to help you understand and deal with the stress due to the condition. The groups can help you understand the condition, change unhealthy habits, challenge negative beliefs about yourself, help develop and improve social skills as well as repair and bring better understanding to relationships.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it, like us on Facebook Adult ADHD NI and follow us on Twitter @Niallgreene01 & @AdultADHDNI.

Niall now offers One to One support for people affected by ADHD support through Skype.  If you wish to avail of this support service please contact Adult ADHD NI by Email – Niaadhd@gmail.com

46 thoughts on “Stress Management.

  1. Pingback: Franciscan Senior Promise meeting addresses stress management – The Times – nwitimes.com | Helene's Mystical Magazine

  2. Pingback: Conference to help cops with stress management under way – Jamaica Observer | Helene's Mystical Magazine

  3. Pingback: Conference to help cops with stress management under way – Jamaica Observer | Why Mindfulness?

  4. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Stress And Relaxation For Better Life

  5. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Mindfulness Awareness

  6. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Helene's Mystical Magazine

  7. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Why Mindfulness?

  8. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Treatments For Depression

  9. Pingback: Stress management course set for Thursday – The Korea Times – Korea Times | Geniusly Smart

  10. Pingback: Top 5 Secret Weapons for Managing Stress – Huffington Post Canada | Geniusly Smart

  11. Pingback: Top 5 Secret Weapons for Managing Stress – Huffington Post Canada | Mindfulness Awareness

  12. Pingback: Top 5 Secret Weapons for Managing Stress – Huffington Post Canada | What's Mindfulness?

  13. Pingback: 6 Ways To Hack Your Stress – Yahoo Health | Geniusly Smart

  14. Pingback: 6 Ways To Hack Your Stress – Yahoo Health | Stress And Relaxation For Better Life

  15. Pingback: How Successful People Manage Stress – Entrepreneur | Mindfulness Awareness

  16. Pingback: How Successful People Manage Stress – Entrepreneur | What's Mindfulness?

  17. Pingback: Employee Wellness Team hosts kickoff event to support healthy eating, stress … – Etownian | Why Mindfulness?

  18. Pingback: Employee Wellness Team hosts kickoff event to support healthy eating, stress … – Etownian | What's Mindfulness?

  19. Pingback: Veterans Use Beekeeping to Manage Stress – WBOY-TV | Geniusly Smart

  20. Pingback: Veterans Use Beekeeping to Manage Stress – WBOY-TV | Helene's Mystical Magazine

  21. Pingback: Veterans Use Beekeeping to Manage Stress – WBOY-TV | Stress And Relaxation For Better Life

  22. Pingback: You Asked: What’s the Best Stress Relief Method? – TIME | Treatments For Depression

  23. Pingback: Chill out! Stress management tips – Al-Bawaba | Helene's Mystical Magazine

  24. Pingback: Chill out! Stress management tips – Al-Bawaba | Mindfulness Awareness

  25. Pingback: Chill out! Stress management tips – Al-Bawaba | What's Mindfulness?

  26. Pingback: How to manage stress in school – Washburn Review | Geniusly Smart

  27. Pingback: How to manage stress in school – Washburn Review | Mindfulness Awareness

  28. Pingback: How to manage stress in school – Washburn Review | What's Mindfulness?

  29. Pingback: Stress-reduction training gains momentum as part of wellness strategy – HR.BLR.com – Helene's Mystical Magazine

  30. Pingback: Take charge of your diabetes – Journal Advocate | Depression Therapy: What Suits You Best

  31. Pingback: How To Stop Feeling So Stressed, According To Science – Refinery29 | Mindfulness Awareness

  32. Pingback: How To Stop Feeling So Stressed, According To Science – Refinery29 | Meditation Surprise

  33. Pingback: Staying on top of stress management – Grand Valley Lanthorn | Mindfulness Awareness

  34. Pingback: Staying on top of stress management – Grand Valley Lanthorn | Why Mindfulness?

  35. Pingback: Keeping the peace: Managing sibling rivalry – Southeast Missourian | Meditation Surprise

  36. Pingback: Stress Causes and Symptoms. Sure Ways to Relieve Stress! | UnDepress

  37. Pingback: Natural Ingredients for Managing Stress: the latest research on ingredients for successful mood support products – Natural Products INSIDER | What's Mindfulness?

  38. Pingback: Natural Ingredients for Managing Stress: the latest research on ingredients for successful mood support products – Natural Products INSIDER | Geniusly Smart

  39. Pingback: Natural Ingredients for Managing Stress: the latest research on ingredients for successful mood support products – Natural Products INSIDER | Treatments For Depression

  40. Pingback: I’m the fat person sitting next to you on the plane – Vox – Vox – Helene's Mystical Magazine

  41. Pingback: Women police personnel learn stress management – The Hindu – The Hindu – Helene's Mystical Magazine

  42. Pingback: Women police personnel learn stress management – The Hindu – The Hindu | Mindfulness Awareness

  43. Pingback: Women police personnel learn stress management – The Hindu – The Hindu | Treatments For Depression

  44. Pingback: Women police personnel learn stress management – The Hindu – The Hindu | Why Mindfulness?

  45. Pingback: Students make early start in stress management – Times of India | Treatments For Depression

  46. Pingback: We are not easily frustrated. – Niall's ADHD Notes.

Leave a Reply

